Skip to content

Marketing books is a bitch

June 5, 2015

Are you an author? Yeah … me too, and I don’t know about you but I’m sick and tired of trying to market my books. I’ve been writing for a long time. This included those many years prior to epublishing – writing books, both fiction and nonfiction, and trying unsuccessfully to see my words in print.
Epublishing arrived and suddenly new opportunites for writers opened up like never before. I know I couldn’t have been more happy. I finally was published and my books were in front of readers. But alas, I sold few books, and I continue to hammer my head against this brick wall of marketing.
I’ve spent a few bucks here and there with advertising my works. I’ve endlessly tried all the free marketing – Facebook sites, Pininterest, search engine optimization tricks – you name it. In a good month I may sell forty to fifty books. Of course, when your books are priced between 99 cents and 3 dollars you don’t make a lot of money.
My goal has long been to write full time, but if you do the math, it’s easy to see I have a ways to go if I ever want to pay the bills from the bucks I earn as an author.
I’m not complaining. Well … actually I am. My point is I don’t have any quick answers as to how to effectively market books. I’ve read tons of stuff by so-called experts on the subject, endlessly searched the the internet for answers and talked to plenty of other writers, but I’m at a loss to know what the magic bullet is for making any kind of real money as an author.
Book marketing is a bitch.
I know how to write a book. That’s the easy part. I write what I want, and I write fast and the words come tumbling out onto paper. As far as I’m concerned, it’s the only way to create a book of either fiction or nonfiction. Perhaps you can’t be an artist and a businessman too.
And that’s my two cents for the day.

2 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on mreuther.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Marketing books is a bitch | mreuther

Leave a Reply

