Skip to content

The top ten list for writing a book

March 24, 2013

Image

 

You may have dreamed of writing a book for longer than you care to recall. And yet, you just can’t seem to get started. Or, perhaps you’ve begun a book or two over the years, but never managed to finish it. 

Maybe it’s time to re-evaluate this whole prospect of writing a book. Think about your motivation, the reasons you’ve wanted to be an author.

To save you some time, I went ahead and came up with my own reasons for you. You may or may not agree with them. At any rate, here they are, the top ten reasons why you should immediately write your first book.

1. It’s been bugging me for so long.

2. I’ll become rich and famous.

3. It costs no money.

4. Others will think I accomplished something.

5. I’ll end up having a lot of fun doing it. Seriously folks.

6. I may just make some money with my book.

7. Once I find I can do it, I’ll want to write more books.

8. I simply have to get the story out of my system.

9. The book I write will make a big difference in others’ lives.

10. I will do something that many other people only talk about doing.

11. I’ll finally be able to say, “Hey, I’m an author.”

Okay. Right. I actually jotted down 11 reasons for writing a book rather than 10.
Maybe you can think of other reasons. If so, get back to me with some of them. I’d love to hear from you. 

The person who comes up with the best reason, other than those listed here, wins a free copy of my book, Write the Darn Book.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. One of my reasons for writing a book is to leave MY mark on the world. It may be the worst book ever written, but it will be out there. It will be archived somewhere! And…reason number 11!! 😉

  2. I think that the most powerful reason for writing a book is to tell a good story. If u think about it, everything boils down to a story, whether it be social history, a joke, news, tv, a film, even talking about what food u enjoy. It’s all part of the same thing. People tell stories. All the time. I think that’s why I write. To tell a story that might move someone else.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The top ten list for writing a book | mreuther

Leave a Reply

