Skip to content

Writing a book should be fun, not a pain in the ass

March 13, 2013

Image

 

A number of years ago I was at a writers conference. We were between seminars, waiting for lunch, if I recall, when I found myself talking to a few other writers. We got to exchanging stories of woe, how we couldn’t get published and the cards were so much stacked against us. We couldn’t find literary agents. Nobody cared about unpublished fiction writers. And we really didn’t feel like we were getting much out of this writers conference either. It was that kind of cry-a-thon.

A little man, whose name I couldn’t remember if you put a gun to my head, just stood there and smiled. He was dying to add his two cents to the conversation. Finally, he said, “When I write I’m just having such a good time. I’m in my own little world creating stories. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to be published, but I’m not worried about it. I’m just having such a blast writing.”

I can’t think of any better advice for being a writer than that. What an endorsement. It’s true. It’s why we should all be writers – to have a good time. I mean, why do anything we don’t really have to do if it’s going to be drudgery?

I have no idea what happened to that little man. For all I know, he’s still writing. Perhaps he has books out there that people are having as good a time reading as he is writing them. One thing is for sure, he made a few writers at that conference thinking or rethinking their reasons for being writers.

Let’s face it. If you’re going to commit to writing a book, you might as well go into it with a positive attitude, and what better way to cop a positive attitude than to look forward to it every day.

I’ll be the first to admit there’s no way you’ll be roaring to write every day. No one can be happy, jazzed all the time. But don’t be negative either. Find out what you want to write about. Do it from the heart and write fast. It’s the best way.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Today I’m writing about a great girl fight and having a blast!!

    • David Alexander permalink

      I am thinking about creating a New Super Hero

  2. He’s right. If you don’t write for the love of it when you’re not published chances are that you won’t last even when you are.

  3. Reblogged this on Lori's Inner Goddess and commented:
    I really loved this blog post by Mike Reuther because if you’re a writer, you have probably asked yourself why. Why do I write? Why do I put myself through the agitation of getting words to screen, of forcing myself into solitude, of crying with joy over one paragraph?
    Writing is one of the greatest joys I’ve ever known, as well as one of the most painful undertakings I’ve encountered. At times it can be hard to squirrel yourself away with your laptop, worrying about what people will think when they read your book or worrying that no one will read your book. Before self-publishing and e-books became both a gift from the gods and a joke from Satan, who knows how many well-written and beautiful manuscripts gathered dust in a desk drawer due to either the author’s fear or publisher rejections?
    Have fun with writing! What a novel concept (no pun intended because I’m just not that witty). Shouldn’t it be fun? I can only speak for myself but I spend enough time drudging through a day job that I thoroughly dislike so when I do sit down and power up my laptop to bare my soul and creative genius (ha ha) to the online world, it should be a fun and happy experience. We certainly don’t need any more ear-cutting Van Goghs and suicidal Plaths in this world.
    What do you think? Are you with me on Blasting the Book?

    • Why indeed. Maybe some other bloggers can weigh in on some of their reasons for being writers. Is it to write the great book, or merely to see how well they string words together? I became a writer because I fell in love with books. Plus, I couldn’t do geometry.

Leave a Reply

