Skip to content

If the idea of writing a book scares you, try something smaller

March 4, 2013

Image

 

Why procrastinate? Why sit around forever and merely dream about the book you want to write? Take action. Do something. But what?
Okay. Maybe you’re not too sure about this whole idea of writing a book. It’s understandable, I know. After all, it’s a commitment. It takes a lot of time. And God knows, time is not something a lot of us have these days. That very word, commitment, is scary in these more complicated days when everything moves faster, when we demand everything to be quicker.
Think about it. We are an instant society. We go to drive-in windows for our food. We grab quick cash from bank machines. We take on-line courses to speed our way toward degrees. Everything is now, immediate. Patience is no longer seen as a virtue.
Maybe you truly don’t think you can take the time needed to write a book. Although if you’be been reading this blog for some time, you know that you can write a book – at least the first draft of one – in just a matter of a few weeks.
So you don’t think you’re up to writing a book. How about a short story? What about banging out an article, an essay? Go ahead. Give it a shot.
Sit down and write some kind of short piece. Who knows? Maybe it will lead to that book you’ve often thought you wanted to write. And if it doesn’t, so what. All you’ve lost is a day or two of your time. Maybe you’ll find that writing columns or short stories are really your calling. That’s fine.
There are markets for short stories, but especially for columns and articles. Look to your local newspaper. Get online and search for the markets. Sure, in most cases they don’t pay much, but if you really want to write, it’s worth exploring. And you’ll be writing, sharpening you skills and getting into the rhythm of writing.
There’s nothing wrong with trying your hand at other kinds of writing. Start up a blog and write your head off about some subjects near and dear to your heart.
What the hell. You’ve got nothing to lose. Am I right?
Get writing.

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Gwen permalink

    You are indeed right! Fantastic advice for all newbie writers – myself included!

  2. Blogging has been by far the best way to get me to write. For years I procrastinated and hadn’t written anything, just waiting for the ‘right time’ to come along to get my book written. It doesn’t come along so what the hell, just write anything and then wait for NanoWriMo to come along, that helped me no end! Yrs of nothing and then 50,000 words just like that – amazing! Not that I’ve actually gone back and edited it yet….

  3. Popcorn permalink

    Reblogged this on thegreatpopcorn1999 and commented:
    Writing a story isn’t wha scare me, it’s know the story I wrote is a good one. My name is David Alexander, but you may know me as Popcorn, and I a future writer. I need help getting exposed to the literary world. I am asking for your support and for you to ask friends, family and love one to check out my blog

  4. We have definitely become a generation of instant gratification and my extreme lack of impatience is proof of that. I find writing does slow me down a bit and I take pleasure in the long process of writing a novel (editing not so much). but procrastination does tend to ride me like a monkey on my back. Thanks for post 🙂

    • We all like that instant gratification. It’s human nature.

      • so true. It’s like we are all just giant kids throwing temper tantrums screaming “I WANT IT. I WANT IT. I WANT IT.”

      • What happened to long walks?

      • seems to interfer with watching TV or video games. Enjoying the simplicities in life are greatly over looked by a large percentage of the population. It’s a sad, sad thing.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. If the idea of writing a book scares you, try something smaller | mreuther
  2. Liebster Hyperdrive | The Consortium of the Curious

Leave a Reply

