Skip to content

When writing a book authors need to be their own muse

February 14, 2013

Image

 

“Knock, Knock.”

“Who’s there?”

“This is your muse speaking.”

“Well, I’m busy muse. I’m writing.”

“Oh really? It doesn’t look to me like you’re writing. It looks to me like you’re passing time. Or gas.”

“Oh you’re funny. And what do you mean I’m not writing. I’m sure as hell getting ready to. I got my coffee here. My tablet over there. It’s 7 a.m. I’m up early as usual, and I’m gonna write.”

“Yeah. That’s what you said yesterday morning and the day before that and last week and a bunch of days last month.” 

“What are you getting at?”

“Face it. You’re not writing. You’re going through the motions. You do this all the time.”

“Okay. Okay. I’ve been blocked lately.”

“Blocked?”

“You know. Writers block.”

Muse smiled. He’d heard this before. 

“Oh. That’s right. You don’t believe in writers block. Do you?”

“No. No I don’t.”

“Well damn it muse. It’s real. As real as the nose on my face.”

“Ha. Talking in cliches now. I’ll bet you haven’t had an original thought since last May.”

“Look muse. Did you come here to antagonize me or what?”

“I came to give you a kick in the butt.”

“A kick in the butt? I need that like I need two heads. Why don’t you take a hike. Better yet … a long walk on a short pier?”

“Oh. I like that. A little spunk. Put that into your writing … if you ever get around to writing again.” 

“Hey. Where are you going?”

“You told me to leave.”

“I didn’t really mean leave. I meant … “

“What? You want my help?”

“Well … yeah.”

“I’ve told you many times. I can’t help you. You can only help yourself. You see. I don’t really exist. There is no muse, someone who comes to you with inspiration, who zaps you like a bolt of lightning, bringing alive your creative juices.”

“But … nothing I write will be good enough.”

“C’mon. Sure it will. Just start writing. From the heart. Write fast. Soon, you’ll have a book.”

“It seems I’ve heard this before.”

“Sure you have.”

“Thanks muse.”

“No problem. That’s what I’m here for.”

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Great! I loved it!

  2. It happens. Sometimes if you’re not passionate enough about the book, you can lose interest. Losing interest can also be a sign that the book is done or near done.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. When writing a book authors need to be their own muse « mreuther
  2. These Dark Feathers | Go Home – Pursue The Muse
  3. The Pocket Muse – Monica Wood | NadiaJWriter.com
  4. Have you ever lost interest in something you were writing? | Jennifer M Eaton

Leave a Reply

