Skip to content

Bad reviews

December 19, 2012

I recently got a bad review for one of my books. The book, “Return to Dead City” was a baseball mystery. It was my first published work, a rather dark book with many unlikable, unsavory ¬†characters. The protagonist had his share of flaws too, and apparently the reviewer took exception with that. Okay. That’s fine. No one is going to go flip happy over everything you write. I blogged last week about how writers can solicit reviews, but of course, criticism comes with the territory. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. You already do that when you put words to paper, and later when you publish. Stand by your writing. Again, not everyone is going to like your book. Write for yourself, and let the chips fall where they may.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. It’s not very nice is it when you receive your first bad review? But you have to get over it and carry on regardless. Like you say, not everyone is going to like your book. I am always careful to choose a book from genres that I am familiar with if I want to write a review. It would be so easy to pick something that I don’t like, then write a bad review. I do wonder if this happens some times.

Leave a Reply

