Skip to content

Start your book

December 18, 2012

ImageI sat down on Thanksgiving night in 1987 and began writing my first novel. The book never got published, but it was the beginning of a journey that hasn’t stopped. Since then, I’ve written a number of books, published three and have put aside several others that I plan on doing something with. My point is that if you’re a writer, you’ll likely have all sorts of stories running through your head. That’s the way it’s been for me throughout my life. By the time I started writing that first book – a kind of coming-of-age story of my few years in the military – my brain has been exploding for years with stories I was going to get down on paper. That it took me so long to begin a book may well be something that is happening with you. Get started on that book. Let the words fly. The time for hesitation is over. Don’t be afraid. Really, the only fear you should really have is not writing, not doing something. Time is precious. Start writing – today. 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Hello, I just turned 50 and signed up for WordPress last night. Yours is the first blog I’m reading and it hits home. I’ve waited too long…it’s time to let out what I’ve held in all these years (for whatever reason). Thank you for the inspiration, Sir!

    • Good deal. The best part is, you can write fast and get a first draft out in no time at all.

      • That’s the only way to do it. Good advice. Labor over a 1st draft and I have a feeling I’ll never find the end. That’s happened numerous times!

        Write on!

  2. A couple of hours a day of fast writing, six days a week and you have that first draft in no time at all.

Leave a Reply

